User Experience with Managed OS for iOS, iPadOS and tvOS

By Bre'Anna Scott

Understand what users will experience during the Managed OS update process.

Since deploying a managed OS for iOS, iPadOS, or tvOS has the potential to disrupt work when devices reach the enforcement deadline, it is important to understand what users will experience.

Kandji's Managed OS leverages native, built-in notifications and the familiar OS update experience that users are already comfortable with. This, in addition to iOS and iPadOS 15's user deferral limit on MDM enforced updates, will help ensure that updates happen in a timely fashion.

Upcoming Update Notifications

Once Kandji has cached the update on their device, the user will see a red notification badge on the Settings app indicating that an update is available:

They will also see a message at the top of the Settings app:

If they tap on that message (or navigate to Settings > General > Software Update), they will be able to proceed with the update before the enforcement deadline:

Update Experience

Once the enforcement deadline is reached, the user experience will vary depending on whether a passcode exists on the device:

  • Since tvOS does not support passcodes, the update will be installed immediately, and the Apple TV will reboot.
  • iOS and iPadOS devices that do not have a passcode will behave the same way as tvOS.


Once devices without a passcode reach their enforcement deadline, they restart without warning and begin the update process.

Screen Shot 2021-10-21 at 1.39.41 PM

Unique Update Prompts for Passcode-Protected Devices

iOS and iPadOS devices that are protected with a passcode require that the user enter it to authorize any operating system update. At the Lock Screen, they will see a notification:

Once at the Home Screen, users will first see a Software Update prompt giving them the ability to kick off the update immediately or later:

If they choose to proceed with the update, they will be prompted for their passcode and the update will be installed right away. 

If they instead tap Later, they will be asked to enter their passcode to authorize the update to happen overnight.

At the bottom of that screen is a Remind Me Later option to further defer the update:

Users are allowed to defer the update just three times. After a third deferral, they will be forced to update their device before continuing to use it:

This three-deferral limit for MDM-initiated updates is new in iOS 15 and iPadOS 15 and later and is enforced across a device restart.


At the enforcement deadline, Managed OS will prompt the user regularly to approve the update which means they will be forced to update in short order even if they use this "Remind Me Later option.


Once the user enters their passcode to allow the update, their device applies the update overnight.


To learn more about Managed OS, please see our other support articles:
Configuring Managed OS for iOS, iPadOS and tvOS
OS update strategies: OS deferral Restriction and Managed OS