Why an end user could think all of their data was erased after enrolling in Kandji
During initial setup, macOS offers users to sync their Desktop and Documents folders with iCloud. Should the Mac later be enrolled in Kandji and this feature be disabled, macOS will remove the previously synced data from the Mac.
This obviously will be alarming for users, however, their data still resides in their iCloud account.
When disallowing iCloud Syncing and access to other iCloud features, we highly recommend informing your team before enrolling in Kandji so that they can make changes to ensure they have access to any critical data.